Hall of North American Birds

American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street

The Hall of North American Birds is named for Frank M. Chapman (1864-1945), the Museum's renowned ornithologist. Under the direction of Chapman, a leader in the study of bird speciation and distribution in the Western Hemisphere, the Museum's bird co... more

The Hall of North American Birds is named for Frank M. Chapman (1864-1945), the Museum's renowned ornithologist. Under the direction of Chapman, a leader in the study of bird speciation and distribution in the Western Hemisphere, the Museum's bird collection grew to become one of the greatest in the world and now holds 99 percent of all known species. The peregrine falcon diorama in this hall is one of many that Chapman conceived, and it re-creates a scene he actually saw on the Hudson River Palisades. The diorama shows an adult arriving at a nest site with a newly caught pigeon.


Drag the street view to look around 360°.
Use the arrow buttons to navigate down the street and around the neighborhood!

Hall of North American Birds

Mon, March 01
10:00AM
$
Tue, March 02
10:00AM
$
Wed, March 03
10:00AM
$
Thu, March 04
10:00AM
$
Fri, March 05
10:00AM
$
Sat, March 06
10:00AM
$
Sun, March 07
10:00AM
$
Mon, March 08
10:00AM
$
Tue, March 09
10:00AM
$
Wed, March 10
10:00AM
$
Occurs 70 more times through May 19

American Museum of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024
(212) 769-5100

Schedule

March 1, Monday 10:00AM
March 2, Tuesday 10:00AM
March 3, Wednesday 10:00AM
March 4, Thursday 10:00AM
See complete schedule

Category

Arts

Other Arts Events

Decorative Arts Galleries

The Brooklyn Museum's decorative arts collection occupies the fourth floor of th... view

Hayden Planetarium

Dominating the Rose Center is the magnificent Hayden Sphere, which features the ... view

Keith Sonnier: Tunnel of Tears

A minimalist artist, Keith Sonnier is known for his use of neon lights in archit... view

Theodore Roosevelt Memorial Hall

This hall is a tribute to Theodore Roosevelt (1858—1919), and the contributions ... view

 

BURNING MANischewitz: JEWBELONG’s Free Online Passover Seder

On the first night of Passover, JewBelong will lead BURNING MAN-ischewitz, their... view

Stories Survive: Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff

As a small child, Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff fled her Nazi-occupied hometown of ... view

Hidden Kingdoms: The World of Microbes

We live in a sea of microbes...
Even though you cannot see these microbes, you ... view

Marvelous Molecules: The Secret Of Life

Marvelous Molecules: The Secret of Life is the first ever hands-on exhibition ex... view