Hall of North American Birds

American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street

The Hall of North American Birds is named for Frank M. Chapman (1864-1945), the Museum's renowned ornithologist. Under the direction of Chapman, a leader in the study of bird speciation and distribution in the Western Hemisphere, the Museum's bird co... more

The Hall of North American Birds is named for Frank M. Chapman (1864-1945), the Museum's renowned ornithologist. Under the direction of Chapman, a leader in the study of bird speciation and distribution in the Western Hemisphere, the Museum's bird collection grew to become one of the greatest in the world and now holds 99 percent of all known species. The peregrine falcon diorama in this hall is one of many that Chapman conceived, and it re-creates a scene he actually saw on the Hudson River Palisades. The diorama shows an adult arriving at a nest site with a newly caught pigeon.


Drag the street view to look around 360°.
Use the arrow buttons to navigate down the street and around the neighborhood!

Hall of North American Birds

Fri, December 03
10:00AM
$
Sat, December 04
10:00AM
$
Sun, December 05
10:00AM
$
Mon, December 06
10:00AM
$
Tue, December 07
10:00AM
$
Wed, December 08
10:00AM
$
Thu, December 09
10:00AM
$
Fri, December 10
10:00AM
$
Sat, December 11
10:00AM
$
Sun, December 12
10:00AM
$
Occurs 170 more times through May 31

American Museum of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024
(212) 769-5100

Schedule

December 3, Friday 10:00AM
December 4, Saturday 10:00AM
December 5, Sunday 10:00AM
December 6, Monday 10:00AM
See complete schedule

Category

Arts

Other Arts Events

Drawings & Prints Collections - Morgan Library & Museum

Ranging from preparatory studies and sketches to finished works of art, the near... view

Seeing The Light

Trick your mind and "see" something that's not there. Examine and experiment wit... view

FAD Market: Holiday Pop-up – BergenXCourt [Court Street]

December 4+5 | 11+12 | 18+19
11am-6pm

St. Paul’s Church
190 Court Street
... view

Bouncing Ball SingAlong Secret Speakeasy Sun Dec 26th 7pm

Hi hi!
Wanted to let you know about The Museum of Interesting Things next Secre... view

 

Feng Shui Master Certification (6 days)

This Certification Training will be held 6 consecutive days from September 6 - S... view

Architecture and Design Collection at MoMA

The world's first curatorial department devoted to architecture and design was e... view

Penguin Feeding & Presentation

Watch the gentoos and chinstraps feast on the fish their keepers hand out, and a... view

Tovah Feldshuh In Becoming Dr. Ruth

Six-time Tony- and Emmy-nominated actor Tovah Feldshuh returns to the stage in N... view